Wednesday, August 10, 2011

What was the better decade for the NHL?

I liked the 90s better. Lockout has no effect - remember, half of the 94-95 season was also lost to a lockout. I just believed that the quality of hockey was better in the 90s, when various styles of play could win. So, it really didn't matter what your system was, it depended on the players. Whether it was the Devils trap, the Rangers grittiness, or the Red Wings cool manner (97-98), the stars of the game then had a little more moxie. Right now, the game is being controlled by teenagers or guys barely in their 20s and some fundamentals are lacking. Much like what was happening in the NBA a few years ago. They righted that problem, and I hope that Hockey does the same thing.

No comments:

Post a Comment